Updates on Prescribing Controlled Substances
Physicians and Physician Assistants (PAs) who prescribe or will be prescribing controlled substances in the State of Texas need to be aware of changes to the laws regarding prescribing and ordering these drugs.
Texas Controlled Substances Registration Numbers for Physicians and PAs:
Under Senate Bill 195, the requirement for controlled substances registration (CSR) with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) was eliminated on September 1, 2016. DPS has stopped accepting applications for the Texas Controlled Substances Registration under Chapter 481.061 of the Health and Safety Code.
The DPS CSR registration process will not be replaced by another process. Physicians and PAs will continue to be required to hold registration from the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration in order to prescribe controlled substances and to register prescriptive delegation for Physician Assistants and Advanced Practice Nurses with the Texas Medical Board.
Physician Assistants with Temporary Licenses pending Medical Board approval will still be required to file a Prescriptive Delegation Form with the Registrations Department of the Medical Board. To request a form, please email Registrations@tmb.state.tx.us. The DEA will verify temporary licenses with assigned delegation for registration of a DEA CSR directly with board staff.
Prescription Pad Orders:
Effective September 1, 2016, the Texas Prescription Program transferred to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy (TSBP). This includes the oversight and processing of the official prescription pads for Schedule II prescription forms. The Texas Department of Public Safety no longer accepts orders for the official prescription pads; however, official prescription forms issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety prior to September 1, 2016 will be considered valid prescription forms.
Information from the Department of Public Safety on this bill is located at https://www.txdps.state.tx.us/RSD/ControlledSubstances/index.htm.
For information regarding prescription pad ordering, visit the TSBP's website: http://www.pharmacy.texas.gov/rxpad/.
Prescription Monitoring Program Changes:
The prescription monitoring program previously known as Prescription Access in Texas (PAT) was also moved under the Texas State Board of Pharmacy (TSBP) effective September 1, 2016, and is now called the Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP).
The new prescription monitoring program is available through the TSBP’s website at https://www.pharmacy.texas.gov/PMP/. Information will be forwarded to current Prescription Access in Texas users explaining how to update their registrations for the new system.
The TSBP produced a video tutorial on how to register for the PMP, visit: https://youtu.be/u7aZm_hnfQ4.
To activate your license for the first time, you need to pay your first time registration fee within 90 days of your license issue date. To maintain an active license you will need to renew your registration every two years.
Physicians can register online 60-90 days prior to expiration. Registration reminders will be sent out on postcards at least 60 days in advance of the expiration date.
Physician Specialty List - to be used with application and registration forms.