image of caduceus
PA Registration/Renewal

New biennial renewal process: 

As of December 2018 Physician Assistant Registration/Renewal will begin the process of renewing biennially (every 2 years).

To activate your license for the first time, you need to pay your first time registration fee within 90 days of your license issue date.  To maintain an active license, you will need to renew your registration biennially.

In order to stagger the roll out of the biennial renewals, all licensed Physician Assistants are being separated out into 2 groups.  Licenses ending with an odd number will register for two years in 2019.  Licenses ending with an even number will register for one year in 2019 and then register for two years in 2020.  Once the roll out is complete, even license numbers will continue to renew in even years, and odd license numbers will renew in odd years.

For any questions related to the new Physician Assistant biennial renewal, please contact us at Registrations@tmb.state.tx.us using the subject line: “PA renewal”, and please also include your license number.  This will help us route your request appropriately for a faster response.

 

New criminal history background check requirement: 

COMING SOON -  criminal history background checks through the Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation will bw required prior to registration for current licensees.  Detailed information will be provided in the tabs below.

Physician assistants can complete renewals online 60-90 days prior to expiration. Registration reminders will be sent out at least 60 days in advance of the expiration date.

 

Supervision and Prescriptive delegation: 

To register Supervision and/or Delegation, use the online system to file the notice of intent to practice/supervise forms required of PAs and physicians AND to register prescriptive authority, prior to beginning to practice.

 

Supervision & Prescriptive Delegation System - Click Here

 

  • Once the Board has issued you an official license number, you will have 90 days to register and activate your license.  Failure to register will result in penalty fees, and after one year, license cancellation.

     

    Please note: You must complete registration and pay the fee within 90 days of the date your license was issued to avoid penalty fees.  If you have not registered your license within 90 days of your license issue date, a penalty fee equal to ½ the registration fee will be assessed.  If you have not registered your license within 120 days of your license issue date, the penalty fee will increase to a fee equal to a full registration fee.  If you do not register within 12 months of the date of issuance of your license, your license will be considered canceled.

     

    Under Senate Bill 195 (84th Legislative Session) effective 9/1/2016, the TMB will remit funds to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy for the purposes of the operation and maintenance of the Texas Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP). As such, a small fee for this purpose has been added to your total renewal fee due.

     

    First Registration Fee 

     

    The Board assigns a first registration period. These vary in length from 6 to 24 months. First time registration fees are prorated accordingly. Subsequent registrations will be two years in length and will be due on the same day each renewal.

     

    The initial registration fee includes the $18.90 Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) fee, and a $5 Office of Patient Protection fee for the first year, with an additional $1 charged for any subsequent year. These fees are required by statute and cannot be pro-rated. The remaining amount is required by the Physician Assistant Board and prorated for each permit length.

     

    These fees are explained in more detail in the chart below.

     

    Initial Registration

    Length of Permit

    Agency Fee

    Ofc Pt Prot Fee

    PMP

    Total

    6 months

     $133.75

     $5.00

     $18.90

     $157.65

    9 months

     $200.63

     $5.00

     $18.90

     $224.53

    12 months

     $267.50

     $5.00

     $18.90

     $291.40

    15 months

     $334.38

     $5.00

     $18.90

     $358.28

    18 months

     $401.25

     $6.00

     $18.90

     $426.15

    21 months

     $468.13

     $6.00

     $18.90

     $493.03

    24 months

     $535.00

     $6.00

     $18.90

     $559.90

    The fee for subsequent biennial registrations is $555.90 per renewal.  This rate can be changed by the legislature, however, at any time in the future.

    Under Senate Bill 195(84th Legislative Session) effective 9/1/2016, the TMB will remit funds to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy for the purposes of the operation and maintenance of the Texas Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP). As such, a small fee for this purpose has been added to your total renewal fee due.

     

    The biennial registration fee includes the $18.90 Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) fee, and a $1 per year fee for the Office of Patient Protection. These fees are required by statute and cannot be pro-rated.

     

    These fees are explained in more detail in the chart below.

     

    In order to stagger the roll out of the biennial renewals, all licensed Physician Assistants are being separated out into 2 groups. 

    Licenses ending with an odd number will register for two years in 2019.  Licenses ending with an even number will register for one year in 2019 and then register for two years in 2020.  Once the roll out is complete, even license numbers will continue to renew in even years, and odd license numbers will renew in odd years.

     

     Subsequent Registration

    Length of Permit

    Agency Fee

    Ofc Pt Prot Fee

    PMP

    Total

    12 months

     $267.50

     $1.00

     $18.90

     $287.40

    24 months

     $535.00

     $2.00

     $18.90

     $555.90

    Online registration:

     

    No financial information is seen, processed, or stored by the Texas Medical Board. The payment portion of the online registration system is handled by Texas.gov, the official website of Texas.  The price of this service includes funds that support the ongoing operations and enhancements of Texas.gov, which is provided by a third party in partnership with the State. Texas.gov will remit the amount paid to the Texas Physician Assistant Board on your behalf.

     

    Please note that as of 9/1/2015 Texas.gov will charge a different amount depending on the type of online payment service used.

    Ex:           $555.90 Registration fee due          

                    $568.67 Total amount charged on credit card

     

    Ex:            $555.90 Registration fee due

                     $555.90 Total amount charged through electronic check

     

    Non-online (paper) registration:

     

    An additional processing fee of $50 will be charged to those licensees who choose to register through a paper form, when an online option is available.  If an online option is not available (ex: license is delinquent or suspended at the time of registration) the additional processing fee will not be required.

     

    To request a hard copy registration form, please contact the Registration Department at registrations@tmb.state.tx.us or (512) 305-7030.

     

     

    Delinquency fees

     

    Initial Registration – If you have not registered your license within 90 days of your license issue date, a penalty fee equal to ½ the registration fee will be assessed.  If you have not registered your license within 120 days of your license issue date, the penalty fee will increase to a fee equal to a full registration fee.  If you do not register within 12 months of the date of issuance of your license, your license will be considered canceled.

     

    Subsequent Registrations - There is no grace period for the expiration date of a physician assistant license. Once the expiration date has occurred, penalty fee equal to one half of the registration fee will be added.  After 90 days, the penalty fee will increase to equal a full registration fee. If a license has been expired for one year or longer it is automatically cancelled.

    Please note that the Board does not have a “zero balance receipt” that shows that a licensee has a zero balance or that licensee registration has been paid in full, nor can we provide an individualized billing statement of the amount due to complete license registration/renewal. 

     

    Online Registration:

    Please remember that the payment portion of the online registration system is handled by Texas.gov, the official website of Texas.  A printable receipt will be provided at the end of the online registration process. In addition, a confirmation of payment receipt will be emailed to the address given as part of the Texas.gov payment process.

    Additional copies of the receipt will be provided by request only. Submit your request to Registrations@tmb.state.tx.us . Please include your full name, license number, date of payment, and amount paid.

     

    Non-online (paper) registration:

    A receipt will be provided by request only. Submit your request to Registrations@tmb.state.tx.us . Please include your full name, license number, date of payment, and amount paid.

    NEW - TMB Transitions to electronic licenses


    The Texas Medical Board is transitioning to electronic licenses for a more paperless experience and to allow for enhanced licensee control.   As of September 1, 2019 the Board will no longer issue paper licenses after a completed registration/renewal for the following license types:

    • Physician (including telemedicine, administrative, conceded eminence and public health)
    • Physician Assistant
    • Acupuncturist
    • Acudetox
    • General Medical Radiologic Technologist
    • Limited Medical Radiologic Technologist
    • Non-Certified Radiologic Technician
    • Respiratory Care Practitioner
    • Medical Physicist
    • Perfusionist

     

    What does this mean for licensees renewing their licenses on or after September 1, 2019?

    Once your registration/renewal is complete, please allow 2 business days for processing.  After that time, you will be able to log into your MyTMB account and view, save or print a copy of your active license.  In addition, after September 1, 2019, you will be able to use the same system to view, save or print a copy of your active license as needed.

     

    Please note that primary source verification regarding licensure status is always available to anyone, including licensees’ employers, via the TMB website through Look up a License.