image of caduceus
Renewal Process - Medical Radiologic Technologist

NEW REGISTRATION (RENEWAL) PROCESS

Existing permit expiration dates beyond March 31, 2016, will be honored by TMB, no extensions required. Renewals will continue to be done biennially.  Additional information is provided below. Click on the tabs below for specific fee information.

 

Criminal history background checks through the Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation are required for all current licensees and permit holders prior to your first renewal through the Texas Medical Board.  You must be fingerprinted AND your results received BEFORE you will be able to access the online renewal system below.  Information on the required criminal history background checks and instructions for getting fingerprinted are available here.

 

Medical Radiologic Technologists Online Registration/Renewal – NEW!!! - click here

 

PLEASE NOTE:

  • Information on the required criminal history background checks and instructions for getting fingerprinted are available here.
  • Registration/renewal through TMB is completed on a different schedule than DSHS, with all permits expiring during specific set times of year (as opposed to expiring in the permit holder’s birth month).  MRT and LMRT licensees will expire twice a year, February 28th or August 31st .
  • As part of the transition from DSHS to TMB, existing MRT and LMRT licenses will have their first registration with TMB per the existing permit expiration date. The renewal fee charged at the time of the first renewal with TMB will be pro-rated to bring the permits in line with the new expiration dates.  
  • For example, MRT and LMRT licenses that expire in December, or January or February of 2016 will be renewed through February 2018, and licenses that expire in March, April or May of 2016, will be pro-rated to renew through August 2018.
  • For those licensees who were issued or renewed with DSHS just prior to the transition to TMB, it may be approximately two years before you are due to register/renew with the TMB.
  • As part of this transition, some existing license and permit numbers will be reformatted to fit TMB requirements.

 

Information on continuing education is available at CE for General MRTs .

  • The full (24 months) biennial registration fee includes a $2 Office of Patient Protection (OPP) fee. This fee is required by state law. The remaining $64 is the fee required by TMB.

     

     

    Biennial Registration

    Length of Permit

    Agency Fee

    OPP

    Total charged

    12 months

    $ 32.00

    $ 1.00

    $ 33.00

    15 months

    $ 40.00

    $ 1.00

    $ 41.00

    18 months

    $ 48.00

    $ 2.00

    $ 50.00

    21 months

    $ 56.00

    $ 2.00

    $ 58.00

    24 months

    $ 64.00

    $ 2.00

    $ 66.00

    27 months

    $ 72.00

    $ 2.00

    $ 74.00

    Online Registration:

    No financial information is seen, processed, or stored by the Texas Medical Board. The payment portion of the online registration system is handled by Texas.gov, the official website of Texas.  There is a minimal processing fee of this service and all funds go to the operations of Texas.gov, which is provided by a third party in partnership with the State. Texas.gov will remit the amount paid to the Texas Medical Board on your behalf.

     

    Please note that as of 9/1/15, Texas.gov will charge a different amount depending on the type of online payment service used.

    Ex:           $66.00 Registration fee due          

                    $67.74 Total amount charged on credit card

     

    Ex:           $66.00 Registration fee due

                    $66.25 Total amount charged through electronic check

     

     

    Non-online (paper) registration:

    An additional processing fee of $50 will be charged to those licensees who choose to register through a paper form, when an online option is available. If an online option is not available (ex: license is delinquent or suspended at the time of registration) the additional processing fee will not be required.

     

    To request a hard copy registration form, please contact the Registration Department at registrations@tmb.state.tx.us or (512) 305-7030.

    There is no grace period for the expiration date of a Medical Radiologist Technologist permit (general or limited). Once the expiration date has occurred, a penalty fee equal to one half of the registration fee will be added. After 90 days, the penalty fee will increase to equal a full registration fee. If a license has been expired for one year or longer it is automatically cancelled.

    Please note that the Board does not have a “zero balance receipt” that shows that a licensee has a zero balance or that licensee registration has been paid in full, nor can we provide an individualized billing statement of the amount due to complete license registration/renewal. 

     

    Online Registration:

    Please remember that the payment portion of the online registration system is handled by Texas.gov, the official website of Texas.  A printable receipt will be provided at the end of the online registration process. In addition, a confirmation of payment receipt will be emailed to the address given as part of the Texas.gov payment process.

    Additional copies of the receipt will be provided by request only. Submit your request to Registrations@tmb.state.tx.us . Please include your full name, license number, date of payment, and amount paid.

     

    Non-online (paper) registration:

    A receipt will be provided by request only. Submit your request to Registrations@tmb.state.tx.us . Please include your full name, license number, date of payment, and amount paid.