The Compact with Texans is provided in accordance with Senate Bill 1563, 76th Texas Legislature (1999). Pursuant to the requirements of the Texas Government Code, Chapter 2114, “Customer Service” (Compact with Texans). The Compact provides information for the public, consumers, and customers on the agency’s mission, programs, principles and standards of customer service, and helpful contact information.
Compact with Texans
About the Agency
The Texas Medical Board is a regulatory agency. We serve and protect the public's welfare by ensuring our licensed healthcare professionals are competent and provide quality patient health care, and by educating consumers regarding their rights in seeking quality health care. Agency objectives are to timely investigate complaints and licensure applications, to raise public awareness, and to inform our regulated professionals and students of their responsibility to the public. Accurate information is to be communicated in a timely manner about our agency, its functions and its actions.
Three boards, containing both public and professional members, guide our agency. The Texas Medical Board directs licensing and enforcement of physicians. The Texas Physician Assistant Board has responsibility over qualifications for licensure and discipline of physician assistants. Both the Texas Medical Board and the Texas Physician Assistant Board share responsibilities over prescriptive authority. The Board of Acupuncture Examiners assures that professional requirements for acupuncture licensees are met.
The Enforcement Division receives and evaluates complaints on physicians, physician assistants, and acupuncturists. Complaints may be made in writing or by Email. Forms are available through our toll-free Disciplinary Action Hotline. Complaints are first evaluated to determine if jurisdiction exists. If so, an investigation may be initiated. Written acknowledgement of complaint receipt and evaluation is provided within 45 days. If an investigation is initiated, all parties are apprised of the status every 90 days, unless notification would jeopardize the investigation.
Complaint investigations are completed on average within six months. Our goal is to complete all investigations within one year. Investigations may be closed for lack of sufficient legal evidence of a violation of state regulation. If possible violations are identified through investigation, the complaint may proceed to an Informal Settlement Conference. A licensee is provided the opportunity to show compliance with law, or the Board may recommend an agreed resolution to the legal violations. If agreement is not reached, the complaint proceeds to the State Office of Administrative Hearings as a contested case. The Administrative Law Judge returns a Proposal for Decision and the Board makes a final decision.
Licensees placed under disciplinary restrictions are monitored by Compliance Officers for compliance with the provisions of the restrictions.
The Licensure Division licenses physicians, physician assistants and acupuncturists, registers physicians in training and non-certified radiologic technicians and certifies non-profit health organizations. Eligibility requirements include passage of national exams, graduation from appropriate educational institutions, postgraduate training if required, and good professional character.
Applicant information is reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. All applicants are informed as to the status of their application initially and upon completion of the review.
Pre-Licensure, Registration and Consumer Services (PRC) provides information on our regulated professionals in writing, by telephone, via the Internet and other electronic means. Information available includes a summary of any disciplinary action taken, the status of the license, the licensee's education and practice specialties. Information on the agency, its functions and services is also available through the PRC.
How to Contact Us
- Pre-Licensure, Registration and Consumer Services: 512-305-7030
- Disciplinary Action Hotline: 800-248-4062
- How to File a Complaint Against a Licensee: 800-201-9353
- Pre-Licensure, Registration and Consumer Services
- P.O. Box 2029
- Austin, TX 78768-2029
Customer Service Principles
The Texas Medical Board is committed to quality customer service. In pursuit of that commitment, we will:
- Provide excellent and timely service to our customers
- Provide our customers with accurate and timely information
- Treat our customers with courtesy and respect
- Strive for continuous improvement in all of the services we deliver
Customer Service Standards
The Texas Medical Board has established the following customer service standards:
- Access to a Live Person
- Our Pre-Licensure, Registration and Consumer Services representatives will be available by phone from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday, and you always have the option of speaking to one of them if you do not wish to use our automated phone system services.
- When You Make an Oral Request
- We will make every effort to discuss and answer your inquiry immediately. If that is not possible, a response will be provided to you within 10 or less business days.
- When You Make a Written Request
- Written requests will be responded to within 10 or less business days.
Complaint Handling Process
Our agency is committed to listen to your requests, understand your concerns, to serve you well and be receptive to suggestions. If you have a compliment or complaint about our services, please contact our agency Communications Officer at:
Jarrett Schneider, Communications Officer
Texas Medical Board
P.O. Box 2018
Austin, TX 78768-2018
Every effort will be made by agency staff members to resolve concerns when customers contact the agency. If concerns cannot be resolved by telephone, agency staff shall direct customers to submit written complaints by mail, fax or e-mail to the above address. Written complaints will be investigated and responded to within three weeks.
Pre-Licensure, Registration and Consumer Services: 512-305-7030
Disciplinary Action Hotline: 800-248-4062
How to File a Complaint Against a Licensee: 800-201-9353
Pre-Licensure, Registration and Consumer Services
P.O. Box 2029
Austin, TX 78768-2029