Why do I have to submit a renewal to IMLC and to TMB?
The Texas Medical Board is statutorily required to have certain information for our online public profile. For this reason, physicians must fill out our renewal form in order to provide this information. The IMLC has their own renewal questions/information that need to be submitted as part of their operations/requirements.
Can I get an extension to complete my renewal?
While there is no actual extension that can be given, physicians have a 30 day grace period past their expiration date to complete their renewal. After this time, their license will go into a delinquent status, the online renewal option will no longer be available, and a penalty fee will be added. Penalty fees cannot be waived. Licenses that have been expired for a year are automatically cancelled.
What happens if I complete the IMLC step of the process but not the TMB portion?
If both the TMB renewal form and the IMLC renewal are not completed before the end of the 30 day grace period, you will be required to submit your TMB renewal form via a hard copy form to us, including the late fee paid by check or money order. If it has been a year after your expiration date and still only one step of the two-step process has been completed, your license will be cancelled.
What happens if I complete the TMB step of the process but not the IMLC portion?
If both the TMB renewal form and the IMLC renewal are not completed before the end of the 30 day grace period, you will be required to submit your TMB renewal form via a hard copy form to us (even if you had previously submitted this to us using our online system), including the renewal fee and late fee paid by check or money order. If it has been a year after your expiration date and still only one step of the two-step process has been completed, your license will be cancelled.
What happens if I miss my renewal and my license is cancelled?
If your license is cancelled after being expired for a year, the license cannot be reactivated without submitting a new application for licensure via either the IMLC or our regular pathway. In addition, the cancellation of your license will be reported to the IMLC. If Texas is your state of principal licensure, the status of other licenses obtained via the IMLC using an LOQ issued by us may be in jeopardy. You would need to contact the IMLC to find out what your options are.
How will I know when my renewal is complete?
An updated copy of your license will be available in your My TMB account after your renewal is complete. You must complete both the TMB questions and the IMLC questions and payment in order for your renewal to be complete. Please note that updating information in the IMLC system is a manual process so it will take a bit longer to update your expiration date in the IMLC system than it takes for the expiration to be updated in our TMB systems.
I have completed my payment to the IMLC and my questions on the TMB website, why is my license expiration date not updated?
A renewal is not considered complete until we receive the payment from the IMLC and it is processed through our finance department. Payments from the IMLC are sent to TMB via a check through the mail so the payment transfer is very manual in nature. This means that it could take 7 to 14 days from the date a licensee pays the IMLC for that payment to be received at our offices. It then needs to be processed through our finance department. It is important that physician’s not wait until the last minute to complete their IMLC payment due to this method of payment processing.
What happens if my payment does not received by TMB by my license expiration date?
Physicians have a 30 day grace period to complete their renewals, so as long as your payment and TMB questions are completed before the end of that grace period, there will be no delinquent action taken on your license. It is important to ensure that you do not wait until the last few days of your grace period to try and complete the payment portion of this process due to the length of time it takes to receive the payment from the IMLC.
My new Texas License was just issued. How long do I have to take and pass the Jurisprudence (JP) exam and complete the initial registration of my new license?
The JP exam is available to take online through your “My TMB” account. The JP exam must be completed before you can complete your initial registration. Both completion of the JP exam and the initial registration must be done within 90 days of your license being issued to activate your license.
How do I create a MyTMB account?
You will need to create a MyTMB account through the TMB website - https://sso.tmb.state.tx.us/Login.aspx.
If you have ever had a My TMB/SSO account, access the system with your previous username and password. If you cannot remember your username and/or password, select the `Forgot Username` or Password link on the Login screen and follow the directions.
To create your account, follow the link above. After completing the security check, select `Create an Account`. Enter in your new TMB License number and verify the last 4 of your social security number and date of birth. You will need to enter and confirm your email address, which will be your username.
After you create your account, you will be required to create a password and establish security questions. Please be aware that your account contains confidential information, and should you disclose your username and password to other parties, those parties will have access to that confidential information.
I have already passed the JP exam as part of a previous application. Do I need to take the exam again?
If you have already taken and passed the Texas JP Exam for a previous Texas Physician Licensure application, you are not required to take it again. However, you will still be required to complete the initial registration within 90 days of your license being issued/re-issued.
I have passed the JP exam. But I can’t print a copy of my license. What am I missing?
Once your JP exam has been passed, and your record updated, you must complete your initial registration prior to having access to view, save or print a copy of your license. You can go online and pay the initial pro-rated registration fee with either a credit card or electronic check. You can begin the initial registration here.
If the information and FAQs provided above do not answer your questions, please contact us at Compact-General@tmb.state.tx.us. Staff will respond to your inquiry within 2-3 business days.