image of caduceus
Examination Requirements

Texas statute requires passage of a licensure examination (typically USMLE or COMLEX) acceptable to the Board. A complete listing of acceptable exams is found in Board Rule §163.6 and can be viewed at: Board Rules

Number of Attempts

The law also requires passage of each part of the examination within three attempts. Exceptions are only allowed for two groups of applicants. Those who:

  • Group One -  held, or had a pending application for, a Texas Physician in Training permit on 9/1/05, or

  • Group Two - have been licensed in good standing in another state for at least 5 years, and who have no restrictions, orders, or probation on any other state medical licenses

If you are in Groups 1 or 2, the exceptions are:

  1. a fourth attempt allowed on one part only, or

  2. a fifth or sixth attempt allowed on one part only, if you are specialty board certified by an A.B.M.S. or A.O.A. member board, and complete, in Texas, an additional two years of postgraduate medical training beyond what is required.

 

Exam Part I

Attempts

Exam Part II

Attempts

Exam Part III

Attempts

Eligible?

Applies to all applicants

3

3

3

Yes

Applies only to the two groups allowed exceptions

4

3

3

Yes, Exception (1)

3

4

3

Yes, Exception (1)

3

3

4

Yes, Exception (1)

5

3

3

Yes, Exception (2)

3

5

3

Yes, Exception (2)

3

3

5

Yes, Exception (2)

6

3

3

Yes, Exception (2)

3

6

3

Yes, Exception (2)

3

3

6

Yes, Exception (2)

Applies to all applicants

4

4

1

No

7

1

1

No

3

4

4

No

3

4

5

No

 

Time Frame for Passage of All Examination Steps

The time between the first step that was passed and the last step that was passed cannot exceed 7 calendar years. The following exceptions are allowed:

     1. The time frame for passage of all parts of the examination may be extended to 10 years if you are specialty board certified by an ABMS or BOS board.

 

     2. The time frame for passage of all parts of the examination may be extended to 10 years if you have practiced under a faculty temporary license issued by the board for at least 12 months.

 

     3. The time frame for passage of all parts of the examination may be extended to two years after completion of the required postgraduate training (currently one year for US/Canadian graduates and 2 years for international medical graduates) if you are a graduate of a combined MD/PhD or DO/PhD program.

 

     4. The time frame for passage of all parts of the examination may be extended to no more than 10 years after completion of the required postgraduate training (currently one year for US/Canadian graduates and 2 years for international medical graduates) if you are a graduate of a combined MD/PhD or DO/PhD program, and are either specialty board certified by an ABMS or BOS Board, or have practiced under an FTL for 12 months.

 

     5. Applicants who don't meet the time frame requirements may apply for a Medical License Limited to Underserved Areas .


Examination Transcripts

  1. If using FCVS, exam scores (USMLE, FLEX, NBME, NBOME/COMLEX, LMCC or State Board examination, etc) will be included in the FCVS packet, so no separate transcripts are required.

  2. If not using FCVSyou must contact all examination agencies and request that a certified transcript of all examination attempts be sent directly to the Texas Medical Board.