image of caduceus
Hardship Exemptions

Senate Bill 202 transferred four occupational regulatory programs from the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas Medical Board (TMB). Medical Physicists, Medical Radiologic Technologists, Perfusionists, and Respiratory Care Practitioners will now be regulated by the TMB and each occupation’s respective board/advisory committee. The transfer of these four programs also included the transfer of the NCT Registry (including Hardship Exemptions). Current rules in effect for these occupational programs will continue to be in effect until amended by TMB, as directed by S.B. 202.

 

Senate Bill 202 also set forth new fingerprinting and criminal background check requirements for all persons performing radiologic procedures in the State, including those that are performing the procedures under a Hardship Exemption.  TMB is now engaged in creating and implementing a process related to performing such criminal background checks for all new and renewing applicants requesting a Hardship Exemptions. 

 

  • A hospital, federally qualified health center (FQHC) or practitioner may apply for a hardship exemption from employing an MRT, LMRT, or NCT.
  • The applicant must demonstrate a hardship in employing an MRT, LMRT, or NCT, as described in Texas Administrative Code Title 25, Part 1, Chapter 140, Subchapter J, Rule 140.520(b)(5).
  • The hardship exemption applicant shall not allow a person who is not an MRT, LMRT, or NCT to perform a radiologic procedure until a hardship exemption is granted.
  • The hospital, FQHC, or a practitioner must reapply annually for the exemption and meet the then current requirements for a hardship exemption. Please note that a hospital, FQHC, or a practitioner who does not reapply for an exemption shall not allow a person to perform a radiologic procedure unless the person is a practitioner, MRT, LMRT, or NCT.

 

Please note:

  • If you had a pending application with the DSHS, those applications have been transferred to the TMB. Your new TMB licensure analyst will contact you by email regarding the status of your application once they have had an opportunity to review the existing information. 
  • If you were granted a previous Hardship Exemption through DSHS expiring between September 1, 2015 and January 31, 2016, and you have reapplied for your Hardship Exemption, your current exemption is considered extended until March 31, 2016
  • Please note compliance with fingerprinting requirements under SB202 will be required as part of your reapplication.

 

Hardship Exemption Application

Please note that at this time the Hardship Exemption application is available in hard copy only.

 

Communication with the Board

Additional information and supplemental forms may be submitted using the US Postal Service or a private overnight delivery service. Board staff will communicate with applicants by e-mail, if an address is provided, or by letter using the US Postal Service.

  • Application and Application-Related Fees

     

    Hardship Application Fee: The current fee for a Hardship Exemption in Texas is $30.00. The entire fee must be submitted before your application can be assigned and processed.

    The registry application fee includes a $5 Office of Patient Protection fee. This fee is required by statute. The remaining $25 is the fee required by the TMB.

     

     

    Hardship Exemption

     

     

     

     

    Hard copy application

    Application Type

    Agency Fee

    OPP

    Total charged

    Hardship Exemption  – Application Fee

    $                   25.00

    $       5.00

    $               30.00

    A list of the TMB approved hardship exemptions are provided in the spreadsheet below.

    TMB Hardship Exemption Approvals

     

    A list of the legacy DSHS approved hardship exemptions are provided in the spreadsheet below. If you were granted a previous Hardship Exemption through DSHS expiring between September 1, 2015 and January 31, 2016, and you have reapplied for your Hardship Exemption, your current exemption is considered extended until March 31, 2016. Please note, compliance with fingerprinting requirements under SB202 will be required as part of your reapplication

    DSHS Legacy Hardship Exemptions

     

    Physician, Physician Assistant and several other licensure applicants are required to submit their fingerprints for state and national criminal history background checks.  Fingerprinting services are provided by MorphoTrust USA for a fee (see "Current fees" below), payable directly to MorphoTrust USA.  Results of the fingerprinting will be sent directly to TMB both from the Texas Department of Public Safety Criminal Records and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

    Live Scan Fingerprinting – Only Available in Texas

    If you are in Texas, or reside out of state but can schedule a time to be in Texas, you may make an appointment for a live scan (a process that captures fingerprints without the use of ink), at locations throughout the state of Texas.

     

    1. Schedule an appointment to be electronically fingerprinted by MorphoTrust USA at one of their IdentoGo enrollment centers.

    • Internet based scheduling is the quickest and most convenient way to obtain a fingerprint appointment.
      1. You may begin the process now by simply clicking on this link: https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G62J and then;
      2. click “Schedule or Manage Appointment”;
      3. complete all required fields on the following page;
      4. Enter your Board issued 6 digit ID#* with “MB-“ in front – example: MB-777777 
      5. Once you have scheduled your appointment, you are not required to bring the form to your visit.
    • If you prefer to schedule over the telephone, you must:
      1. First have the TX Fingerprint Service Code form (Fingerprint Service Code form);
      2. Then call 888.467.2080;
      3. Please have the TX Fingerprint Service Code form before you call –MorhphoTrust will prompt you for the Service Code (11G62J) on the form;
      4. Once you have scheduled your appointment, you are not required to bring the form to your visit.

    2. Arrive at your scheduled appointment with your photo identification and fee

    • If you plan on bringing a form of identification other than a valid (unexpired) TX Driver License, please refer to the Department of Public Safety’s acceptable document types here: http://www.l1enrollment.com/state/forms/tx/55fc619a7f7aa.doc
    • MorphoTrust accepts Visa/MasterCard/Discover/American Express, business checks, money orders and coupon codes (employer accounts) at the time of service.
    • Please note that personal checks and cash are not accepted.

    3. Your fingerprints will be submitted electronically to DPS and the FBI. You will not receive a printed fingerprint card.

    4. At the conclusion of your appointment, the MorphoTrust enrollment agent will provide you with an IdentoGo receipt stating that you were fingerprinted.

    Fingerprints provided for this application shall be used to check criminal history records of the Texas Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in accordance with applicable statutes.

    Please note: If you choose to schedule fingerprinting online, please ensure that you use the TMB service code as, by law, we cannot use fingerprint results that were sent to another agency. If you have accidentally selected another agency, prior to your appointment you will need to visit www.identigo.com, select the state where you would like to schedule your fingerprinting session, Online Scheduling, Begin Registration, and then select “I have an existing appointment I would like to change.”

     

    Hard-Copy Fingerprinting – For Use Outside of Texas

    If you reside outside of Texas and cannot schedule an appointment in Texas for a Live Scan, you must be fingerprinted in ink on a card (only cards provided by the Texas Medical Board are acceptable) at a local law enforcement agency, and must then submit the card directly to MorphoTrust USA to be digitally scanned and processed.

     

    1. Request a fingerprint card by contacting the Texas Medical Board at Screen-CIC@tmb.state.tx.us if you are an applicant, or at Registrations@tmb.state.tx.us if you are a licensee.

    2. Pre-enroll with MorphoTrust USA to submit fingerprint cards.

    • Internet based pre-enrollment is the quickest and most convenient way to submit fingerprint cards.
      1. You may begin the process now by simply clicking on this link: https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G62J and then;
      2. Click “Submit a Fingerprint Card by Mail”;
      3. complete all required fields on the following page;
      4. Enter your Board issued 6 digit ID#* with “MB-“ in front – example: MB-777777
      5. complete all required fields on the following pages.
      6. On the next screen, click the “Pay for Ink Card Submission” button and complete all required fields on the following page;
      7. Complete payment screen;
      8. Print the confirmation document containing a bar code and complete by signing the waiver and filling in contact information;
      9. Once you have obtained your fingerprint cards, follow mail-in directions on the confirmation document.
    • If you prefer to pre-enroll over the telephone, you must:
      1. First have the TX Fingerprint Service Code form (Fingerprint Service Code form );
      2. Then call 888.467.2080
      3. Please have the TX Fingerprint Service Code form before you call –MorhphoTrust will prompt you for the Service Code (11G62J) on the form;
      4. Inform the MorhpoTrust representative that you wish to pre-enroll for a “hard card submission”;
      5. Once payment is complete a summary confirmation document will be emailed to you;
      6. Print the confirmation document and complete by signing the waiver and filling in contact information;
      7. Once you have obtained your fingerprint cards, follow mail-in directions on the confirmation page.

    3. Obtain a copy of your fingerprints by a criminal law enforcement agency on an original FBI APPLICANT fingerprint card. ALL requested information must be provided on the fingerprint card and you and the official taking the fingerprints must sign the card. ONLY CARDS PROVIDED BY THE TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD ARE ACCEPTABLE.

    4. All fingerprints MUST be captured by a law enforcement agency.

    5. Once you have obtained your fingerprint cards, follow the mail-in directions found on the MorphoTrust Pre-Enrollment Confirmation Page that you previously printed and completed.

    6. Wait for a receipt from MorphoTrust USA.

    Fingerprints provided for this application shall be used to check criminal history records of the Texas Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in accordance with applicable statutes.

     

     

    Fingerprinting – Current fees

    As of 10/01/2016 the fee for fingerprinting is $38.50.  This fee includes the fingerprint vendor processing fee, DPS processing fee and FBI processing fee.

     

    * What is a Board issued 6-digit ID#?
    This number, assigned to you at the time you submitted your application for licensure, for physicians can be found online through LIST (Licensure Inquiry System of Texas) or for all other applicants through contacting the Texas Medical Board Consumer and Application Resources (CAR) Department at (512) 305-7030 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Central Time.