
Training and Education Programs 

The Texas Medical Board (TMB) values employee education and self-improvement.  As such, TMB strives 
to support all eligible employees in the pursuit of attaining educational goals for career enhancement and 
improved agency operations.  As these programs demonstrate TMB’s commitment to employees, so too 
shall the employees using these programs demonstrate a commitment to their educational goals and TMB.  
Consequently, there are very high standards for initial and continued eligibility for these programs. 

Pursuant to Texas Government Code Chapter 656, TMB provides employees various training programs in 
order to perform their job duties and tuition assistance for eligible employees pursuing college-level courses 
from an accredited institution of higher education and standardized knowledge exams to obtain and 
maintain professional credentials.  Approval will be considered if such training or educational opportunities 
will enhance the employee’s ability to perform current job duties, enable the employee to perform 
prospective job duties, and be relevant to the employee’s future career goals with the agency.    

The Texas Medical Board also provides training on certain employment laws and other general workplace 
issues.  All employees are required to take employment discrimination and sexual harassment prevention 
training.  New employees shall receive employment discrimination training no later than 30 days after the 
date of hire.  Employees who complete the training are required to sign a certificate verifying their 
completion of the training program.  Additional employment discrimination and sexual harassment training 
is required for each employee every two years after employment.  

Tuition Assistance Program  

Contingent upon availability of TMB’s resources, TMB may financially assist eligible employees with 
tuition cost through the Tuition Assistance Program (TAP).  The maximum tuition assistance that shall be 
granted by the Executive Director is $5,000 per full-time employee per state fiscal year (September 1 
through August 31).  Any remaining balance does not carry over to a new fiscal year.  Tuition cost includes 
tuition and building, lab, and student services fees.  A decision will be made by the Executive Director with 
a recommendation from the Department Manager on an applying employee’s eligibility for the program.  

  

Classified full-time employees may apply for tuition reimbursement to attend college-level courses at an 
accredited institution of his or her choice under the following provisions:  

  

- employee must be working full-time and have been employed by TMB for twelve (12) consecutive 
months; 

- employee must be enrolled in a two-year associate degree, four-year undergraduate degree or 
graduate degree specifically relevant to the employee’s duties or prospective duties within TMB; 

- course(s) must be part of a degree plan designed to improve the employee's performance or qualify 
the employee for another position within TMB; 

- employee must complete all courses during the semester, quarter, or term with a passing grade of 
“A” 

- employee must provide Human Resources with credible proof of completion and passage of the 
course(s) by the employee; 

- employee's job performance must be a minimum 4.0 out of 5.0 on all rated areas in the most recent 
performance appraisal (within the last 12 months) on file; and 



- employee must have no disciplinary action or performance improvement plan during the twenty-
four (24) months prior to applying for tuition assistance.  

Employees participating in TAP shall:  

- maintain an overall Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.0 or better on a 4.0 scale for all college courses 
taken at the current educational institution; 

- not have received a failing grade for any course or have any course with an outstanding 
“Incomplete” status at the current educational institution; 

- observe and comply with all agency policies and work rules; 
- maintain an average 4.0 out of 5.0 on all rated areas of performance appraisals since beginning 

TAP; 
- for semesters where tuition reimbursement is sought, provide Human Resources with: 

o a copy of all of his or her performance appraisals since beginning TAP or the most recent 
performance appraisal if seeking tuition reimbursement for the first time; 

o credible proof of enrollment in the accredited educational institution;  
o a copy of the degree plan;  
o passing grade(s) of course(s);  
o official transcript of all course work taken at the educational institution; 
o cost of tuition, as evidenced by an official invoice or bill from the educational institution; 

and 
o proof of payment to the educational institution after all other federal, state, scholarship, 

grant, etc. payments have been applied; 
- by August 15 of each year, submit his or her request for reimbursement for courses completed at 

any point during the current fiscal year for consideration.  The August 15 date may be extended 
upon request to the Executive Director, but shall not extend past August 31 for any reason.; 

- agree in writing, prior to receiving any reimbursement, to a 12-month-service commitment with 
TMB following receipt of the reimbursement; 

- comply with the length of service requirement or be required to reimburse the agency for all related 
cost associated with TAP; 

- repay the agency the amount of the tuition assistance approved if the employee involuntarily 
separates from the agency prior to the completion of the obligatory service period; and 

- seek approval to flex his or her work schedule from his or her manager and/or supervisor as long 
as there is no negative impact on his or her peers or to the work responsibilities of the employee 
participating in TAP. 

The Texas Medical Board may pay tuition only for courses relevant to the qualifying employee’s position 
within TMB and approved under the program.  Employees must pay for and pass the course(s) first and 
seek reimbursement later, should funding be available and granted by the Executive Director. While 
participating in TAP, employees may apply for and accept other positions with TMB.  Additionally, 
transferring to another position and/or department will not invalidate the participant’s eligibility for tuition 
reimbursement.  Employees absent from work without leave or on a leave of absence (30 working days or 
more) are not eligible for tuition assistance.  

The Tuition Assistance Program is contingent upon available funds at the end of each fiscal year and the 
needs of the agency.  There are currently no funds set aside or allocated to this program.  Discretion and 
authority to approve reimbursement to any employee rests solely with the Executive Director and is not 
guaranteed during any fiscal year.  Determinations on granting reimbursement will be made by the 
Executive Director during the last month of each fiscal year.  If more than one eligible employee requests 



reimbursement and each eligible employee already meets all of the above requirements, then the Executive 
Director will grant funding, should there be any approved, evenly among all eligible courses. 

For example, if there are $10,000 approved for TAP by the Executive Director and there are nine eligible 
employees who have successfully met the TAP requirements for 10 courses, then each course would receive 
$1,000 for TAP with one employee receiving $2,000 total for the two courses the employee completed. 

The Executive Director has sole discretion in the interpretation and application of this policy, but is 
statutorily ineligible to participate in the Tuition Assistance Program. 

 

Educational Leave Program  

Employees are allowed to participate in both the Tuition Assistance Program and the Educational Leave 
Program (ELP) at the same time and during the same fiscal year.   Classified full-time employees may apply 
for paid leave in order to attend college level courses at an accredited institution of his or her choice under 
the following provisions: 

- the employee must be working full-time and have been employed by TMB for twelve (12) 
consecutive months; 

- the employee may be excused for up to three (3) hours per week during regular office hours to 
attend college courses without using leave time; 

- the course must be part of a degree plan designed to improve the employee's performance or qualify 
the employee for another position within TMB; 

- if the employee completes the course or all courses during ELP period with a passing grade of “B” 
or better, then the employee is eligible to continue in ELP;  

- if the employee completes any course during the ELP period with: 
o a grade of “C”, then the employee is ineligible for ELP during the next semester, including 

the summer semester;  
o a grade of “D”, then the employee is ineligible for ELP for one full academic year from the 

end of the semester in which the “D” grade was received;  
o a grade of “F”, then the employee must reimburse TMB for the educational leave taken 

and is ineligible for future participation in ELP;  
o an “Incomplete”, then the employee is ineligible for future participation in ELP until the 

“Incomplete” is resolved with a letter grade; 
 The final letter grade will determine eligibility for ELP as detailed above; 
 If no letter grade is earned by the end of the next semester, then the course will be 

deemed to have resulted in a grade of “F”; 
 If an employee voluntarily or involuntarily leaves TMB during the pendency of an 

“Incomplete”, then the course will be deemed to have resulted in a grade of “F”; 
- if the course is dropped or withdrawn from by the employee at any point, then the employee must 

reimburse TMB, either financially and/or by amending timesheets to reflect the use of vacation, 
compensatory time, or some other type of eligible leave except for sick leave, for the educational 
leave taken up to the date the course is dropped or withdrawn from, but is eligible to request ELP 
in future semesters;  

- the employee must provide his or her Department Manager with credible proof of completion and 
passage of the course(s) by the employee; and 



- the employee's job performance must be satisfactory with a minimum 3.0 out of 5.0 on all rated 
areas in the most recent performance appraisal (within the last 12 months) on file.  

*The Executive Director may waive the mandatory ineligibility periods upon submission of written 
proof or explanation of extenuating circumstances for a grade of “C”, severe extenuating circumstances 
for a grade of “D”, and extreme extenuating circumstances for a grade of “F” or “Incomplete”.  Under 
no circumstances will an employee be waived from reimbursing TMB for the education leave taken 
during which a grade of “F” is earned, an “Incomplete” is deemed to have resulted in a grade of “F”, 
or a course is dropped or withdrawn from at any point. 

An eligible employee wishing to apply for Educational Leave must: 

- maintain an overall GPA of 3.0 or better on a 4.0 scale for all college courses taken at the current 
educational institution; 

- not have received a failing grade for any course or have any course with an outstanding 
“Incomplete” status at the current educational institution;  

- submit a request and obtain approval from Human Resources and their Department Manager; 
- submit a request to the Executive Director with a copy of the current performance appraisal, grade 

transcripts from course work previously taken under the program (if applicable), and a copy of the 
degree plan; and 

- submit his or her request for review at least four weeks prior to the date of registration for classes.  
Requests received too late for processing will be automatically denied unless good cause is 
provided in writing to and approved by the Executive Director;  

 

Approval will be contingent upon there being sufficient staff resources to fulfill the department’s work 
requirements, as determined in the sole discretion of the employee’s manager.  Approval authority for 
participation in ELP is in the sole discretion of the Executive Director. The Executive Director has sole 
discretion in the interpretation and application of this policy. 

Official grade reports or transcripts with the college/university's name must be submitted to Human 
Resources as soon as they are available.  Satisfactory completion of the course work, as detailed above, is 
required in order for the employee to be eligible to reapply for Educational Leave consideration.  An 
employee must use his/her own leave time for traveling to and from class.  As with all other time away 
from work, this must be approved prior to the actual absence.    

If the employee is absent from work on days on which he or she normally attends class, the employee is to 
submit a leave form for the time missed from work without regard to Education Leave.  Leave time must 
cover the time normally spent in class. 

 


