
FORM G 
Provisional License Application and Sponsorship Form   

LICENSURE APPLICATION FORM G– PROVISIONAL LICENSE APPLICATION AND SPONSORSHIP FORM Version 08/21/14 

Pay with a personal check, cashier’s check or money order (payable through a US bank). 
The Texas Medical Board may grant a physician applicant a limited provisional license to practice medicine 
in an area designated by the federal government as a health professional shortage area (HPSA) or by the 
federal or state government as a medically underserved area (MUA) if certain criteria are met.  The 
provisional license is valid for a maximum of 270 days, by law, and cannot be extended.   
 
_____________________________________________    ______________________   
Name         TMB Identification Number 
 
Practice Address: _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
I affirm that I intend to practice in a HPSA or MUA and I request that a provisional license be issued.   

To find out if your intended practice area qualifies as a MUA or HPSA, email the Texas 
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) a request to research the address at 
TexasPCO@dshs.state.tx.us.  If your practice area qualifies, DSHS will email verification 
to you and TMB.   

 

______________________________________     ______________________   
Applicant’s Signature       Date 
 
Sponsoring Physician 
 
_____________________________________________    ______________________   
Sponsoring Physician Name      Texas License Number 
 

Your responsibility as a sponsoring physician does not include your constant physical presence, but that you 
will be readily available.  As sponsoring physician you are not delegating to the provisional license holder, 
and therefore are not ultimately liable for the acts of the provisional license holder.  The board does, 
however, consider that the sponsoring physician is vouching for the physician holding the provisional license 
and will be available to provide guidance regarding the provisional license holder’s responsibilities under 
Texas law. 

I agree to sponsor the above-named physician for a provisional license in Texas.  I understand that the 
above-named physician, if issued a provisional license, may only practice in a HPSA and/or MUA location 
approved by the TMB in accordance with statutory requirements. 
  
 
              
Sponsoring Physician Signature     Date 
 
Sponsoring Physician Waiver Request 
 
If you cannot obtain a physician sponsor, please attach a signed statement to this form explaining how 
compliance with that requirement is a hardship to you.  
 
REMINDER –By law, provisional licenses are valid for a maximum of 270 days and cannot be extended.  
Physicians practicing under provisional licenses who do not complete the physician licensure application 
before the provisional license expires must stop practicing until the physician licensure application is 
complete.  
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