image of caduceus
Transfer of Occupational Programs from DSHS (S.B. 202)

Senate Bill 202 transferred four occupational regulatory programs from the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas Medical Board (TMB). Medical Physicists, Medical Radiologic Technologists, Perfusionists, and Respiratory Care Practitioners will now be regulated by the TMB and each occupation’s respective board/advisory committee. Current rules in effect for these occupational programs will continue to be in effect until amended by TMB, as directed by S.B. 202. Please note the following tentative transition dates:

  • September 1, 2015 – TMB will start accepting new complaints on all new license/certification types. For more information on filing a complaint, visit:

  • October 7, 2015 – TMB will begin accepting all applications for new licenses/certifications.

In the fall, TMB will be issuing formal notifications to all existing licensees and certificate holders with additional information on renewals. Current active licensees and certificate holders do not need to do anything at this time regarding these changes. Please continue to renew following your normal schedule. 

TMB is working very diligently with DSHS to ensure a seamless transition and will continue to provide updates and information as needed. 


Advisory Committee Application Information:  Membership on the Perfusionist Licensure Advisory Committee