The jurisprudence examination will be given at Pearson VUE test centers located throughout the country. The fee for the exam is $61, payable directly to Pearson VUE. Prior to scheduling your examination, you must have received a scheduling permit issued to you by the Board.
Senate Bill 807, effective on 9/1/2015, allows for the waiver of application fees for any military service member, military spouse or military veteran. There is no current reduced registraiton fee.
NCCPA Certification is required for initial licensure in Texas but not for renewal of an active Texas Physician Assistant License.
Applications for PA licensure are submitted online.
The application-processing fee is $220.00 that must be submitted along with the completed application. In addition, there is a fee of $107 if you are requesting a temporary license.
Please see the Application Process and General Information links in the Physician Assistant Quick Links menu, located here.
Below is a link for all of the possible questions and answers. The examination you take will be composed of 50 questions, randomly selected from this group.
The statute requires that jurisprudence examinations be conducted on the licensing requirements and other laws, rules, or regulations applicable in this state.
Individual application processing time will vary according to the complexity of the application. Factors that increase complexity are “yes” answers to any of the Professionalism questions on the application.
At this time, only physician applicants can use the Forms X and Y to expedite an application. Should this change, notification will be posted.
Yes. If you do not pass within three attempts you will be required to appear before the Board to address your inability to pass and allow the Board to evaluate your eligibility for Licensure.
Section 185.4 of the PA Board Rules covers licensure requirements.
No. Texas law requires graduation from an accredited PA program for eligibility.
Yes, if you have requested and paid for one. The request is made by mailing in the Temporary License Affidavit with the $107 fee. A temporary license cannot be issued until all supporting documents for your online application have been received, and your file has been reviewed and determined complete by your assigned licensing analyst. The temporary license is considered a full and active license and will allow you to practice until your permanent license is issued. Permanent licenses are issued once a month. Please see the License Issue Dates link to the left for more information.
Refunds of application/registration fees are available in very limited circumstances. These fees may be refunded in cases of administrative error by the TMB; applicants who withdraw their applications within 45 days of initial application, licensees who retire or request cancellation within 90 days of paying the fee, or on behalf of applicants/licensees who die within 90 days of paying the fee. A pro-rated refund may be requested for good cause by a spouse or personal representative of an applicant/licensee who has died more than 90 days after paying the application/registration fee. Refund circumstances are addressed in Board rule 175.5(c).
Board Rule 185.10 covers Physician Assistant Scope of Practice.
You must register your supervising physician with the TMB prior to applying with the DEA. For information or questions on applying for a DEA under a temporary license, please contact the DEA directly. https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/index.html
Permanent licenses are issued once a month. Please refer to the License Issue Dates link on the left for detailed information on the scheduled licensing dates and deadlines.